flower girls and girl scouts

flower girls club:

Our 5 Principles of True Beauty…

  • Love for The Creator
  • Respect for His creation
  • Peace as a way of life
  • Joy for lifting the spirit
  • Friendship as a gift to be shared with one another

The Flower Girls Club provides the opportunity for young Muslim girls to learn all the skills necessary to become the caretakers of Allah’s great creation, while making lasting friendships with their Muslim sisters!

girl scouts:

The Girl Scout Promise
On my honor, I will try:
To serve God* and my country,
To help people at all times,
And to live by the Girl Scout Law.

The Girl Scout Law
I will do my best to be
honest and fair,
friendly and helpful,
considerate and caring,
courageous and strong, and
responsible for what I say and do,
and to
respect myself and others,
respect authority,
use resources wisely,
make the world a better place, and
be a sister to every Girl Scout.

* The word “God” can be interpreted in a number of ways, depending on one’s spiritual beliefs. When reciting the Girl Scout Promise, it is okay to replace the word “God” with whatever word your spiritual beliefs dictate.

i listened to a story on NPR about how the girl scouts are revamping
their program and image
so they can attract more girls
as well as a more diverse set of girls.
after listening i checked out their website
and it got me thinking about putting sanaa in girl scouts.

as a homeschooler i’ve got to make sure my daughters have
the social outlets and networks they need.
so why not girl scouting, right?

i used to be a girl scout,
but had a bad experience which quickly turned me off
to both girl scouts and social groups in general.

[ tangent ]
short story:
it was a girl scout sleep over.
the first one who fell asleep got their underwear put in the freezer.
i thought i’d hid my underwear good,
but alas,
i wake up
and there is no underwear in my bag.

my young mind knew that these girls
hadn’t yet internalized the
“considerate and caring” and
“respect myself and others” parts
of the girl scout law.

i did not return.

although my mom did make me wear my girl scout uniform
when we traveled to (what was then) east berlin.
[ end tangent ]

i was just browsing to see what was available
in my area,
seeing what the uniforms look like,
and what not.
i put the daisy girl scout leader handbook on hold at the library.

there didn’t seem to be a troop in my area,
but i did find out something new about the girl scouting membership options: juliettes.
“A Juliette is an individually registered Girl Scout, a Girl Scout that does not belong to a troop…”
a juliette can be a daisy, brownie, junior or cadette;
can wear the girl scout uniform;
and even participate in the cookie program as well as other activities.
the only difference is that she works with a adult guide
instead of participating in the “troop programming”.

on to flower girls:
i happened to keep a flier
about a muslim girls unity conference
that will be happening in atlanta at the end of april.
it’s sponsored by the flower girls of america club for muslim girls.

i won’t have to reinvent the wheel
tailoring and tweeking
when necessary
the girl scouts program for my (muslim) daughters.
she can socialize with girls
who are brought up with (more) similar beliefs and morals.

on the other hand,
the girl scouts have more than 90 years of experience behind them.

in any case, i don’t have any current experience with either
and will have to continue evaluating both.

are there other choices out there?
is the World Association of Girl Guides and Girl Scouts any different?

i can’t wait until they are older for programs like
Rites of Unthaa: Becoming A Virtuous Woman
sponsored by Sisters United In Human Service, Inc.
for girls 13 – 17.

however, something like that should be a refresher course
for seeds of self-actualization planted as a child.

since my girls were born
— and probably before —
i’ve been thinking about how my girls
will transition into women.
programs like these help
as a sort of modern rite of passage
so children have the skills for a
more stable, guided, defined transition to adulthood.

2 thoughts on “flower girls and girl scouts

  1. ASA umm Sanaa,
    How can i find out info about the ‘flower girls of america for muslim girls’?
    I’m not too into GS my self. The troop here at masjid muhammad is NOT for me, thus not for my daughters.
    Insha~allah i’ll find something soon.

Leave a Reply

